CIMA Announces New Board of Directors

Posted on
November 4, 2020
Tagged as
2020, AGM, board of directors, CIMA, CIMA News

The Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA) announces its new Board of Directors, following a bylaw and governance change to broaden its representation.

At its recent AGM, CIMA members re-elected incumbents Gord Dimitrieff (Aporia Records), Simon Mortimer-Lamb (Nettwerk Music Group) and Justin West (Secret City Records), all to new, three-year terms. Also elected to a three-year term is newcomer David ‘Click’ Cox (CLK Creative Works).

These directors will be joining incumbents: Chris Moncada (Last Gang Entertainment); Jake Gold (The Management Trust); Iain Taylor (Cadence Music Group); Kieran Roy (Arts & Crafts Productions); Sandy Pandya (Pandyamonium Artist Management); Shauna de Cartier (Six Shooter Records); Tim Potocic (Sonic Unyon Records); Asim “Awesome” Awan – (Awesome Music & Management); Erin Kinghorn (eEk Productions); Heather Crane (Dine Alone); Lisa Logutenkow (The Orchard).

The above incumbents will be completing their two-year terms under CIMA’s former governance rules. Last year, CIMA members approved bylaw changes that will see the Board of Directors transition to three-year terms for Directors over the next three years. The Board will now comprise of 15 elected Directors.

In addition, new rules give the Board the authority to appoint two new directors to one-year terms. The purpose of these new appointments is to give the Board the flexibility to add Directors to balance ethnic or cultural diversity, gender, skillsets, geography and/or genres of music.

To that end, the Board is pleased to announce the appointment of Amanda Rheaume (Ishkode Records) and Kesi Smyth (604 Label Group) to one-year terms.

“I’d like to congratulate and welcome our newly elected, newly appointed and returning board members.” says Stuart Johnston, CIMA President. “We’re excited about the fresh perspective this board will bring during a challenging time for the independent music industry. There’s a need for our industry to shift and adapt to this new landscape, and I have full confidence that these talented Directors will lead us down a successful path.”

At its first meeting, the new Board of Directors also elected its Executive Committee for 2020-2021:

Tim Potocic (Sonic Unyon Records) – CHAIR

Lisa Logutenkow (The Orchard) – PAST CHAIR

Simon Mortimer-Lamb (Nettwerk Music Group) – VICE CHAIR

David ‘Click’ Cox (CLK Creative Works) – VICE CHAIR

Gord Dimitrieff (Aporia Records) – VICE CHAIR

Justin West (Secret City Records) – VICE CHAIR

Shauna de Cartier (Six Shooter Records) – SECRETARY

Kieran Roy (Arts & Crafts Productions) – TREASURER

“A lot has changed in the past year. The pandemic has shifted how we do business, and the reckoning over issues surrounding race and discrimination has highlighted the importance of diversity of voices. We’re proud that this new board is a step in the right direction in reflecting the diversity of Canada and the diversity of the Canadian independent music industry,” says Tim Potocic, Chair, CIMA Board of Directors.

CIMA extends a warm thank-you and appreciation to the 2018-2020 Board of Directors for its hard work and leadership, as well as to congratulate and welcome the 2020–2023 Board of Directors.

List all news