Shortlist Announced For 2019 Polaris Prize

Posted on
July 16, 2019
Tagged as
2019 Shortlist Polaris Prize, APA Canada, Bonsound, cima members, Elisapie, Haviah Mighty, Les Louanges, Marie Davidson, Secret City Records Inc, Shad, Snotty Nose Rez Kids

The Polaris Music Prize shortlist was announced on CBC Music's Drive by Raina Douris (July 16). Nominees range from established award-winners to brand new emerging artists and we’re pleased to be associated with a handful of the shortlist nominees.

Albums eligible for 2019 Polaris Music Prize consideration must be released between May 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019. An independent jury of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada determine the Long List and Short List. Eleven people from the larger jury pool are then chosen to serve on the Grand Jury. This Grand Jury convene on the night of the Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner

The winner for Album of the Year will be selected by the Polaris Grand Jury, receive $50,000 and be honoured at the Polaris Music Prize Gala (held at The Carlu in Toronto on September 16, which will be hosted by Douris and live-streamed globally at The remaining nine artists will receive $3,000 each, courtesy of Slaight Music.

Among the 10 artists on the Polaris short list, the following 6 are supported by CIMA/MusicOntario and our members:

  • Marie Davidson – Working Class Woman – Bonsound
  • Elisapie – The Ballad of the Runaway Girl – Bonsound
  • Les Louanges – La nuit est une panthère – Bonsound
  • Haviah Mighty – 13th Floor – APA Canada/ MusicOntario Member
  • Shad – A Short Story About A War – Secret City Records Inc
  • Snotty Nose Rez Kids – Trapline – MusicOntario Member

To see the full list of nominees please click here

List all news