Shortlist Announced For Polaris Music Prize 2018

Posted on
July 17, 2018
Tagged as
2018, polaris music prize, Shortlist

The Polaris Prize have narrowed down their long-list of forty records down to 10. The nominees range from established award-winners to brand new emerging artists.

The winner for Album of the Year will be selected by the Polaris Grand Jury, receive $50,000 and be honoured at the Polaris Music Prize Gala (held at The Carlu in Toronto on September 17, and simulcast on CBC Music and The remaining nine artists will receive $3,000 each, courtesy of Slaight Music.

Among the 10 artists on the Polaris long list, the following are supported by CIMA and our members:

  • Hubert Lenoir – Darlène: Simone Records (CIMA member)
  • Jean-Michel Blais – Dans Ma Main: Arts & Crafts (CIMA member)
  • Jeremy Dutcher – Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa (MusicOntario member)

The other spots on the list went to: 

  • Alvvays - Antisocialites
  • Daniel Caesar - Freudian
  • Pierre Kwenders - MAKANDA at the End of Space, the Beginning of Time
  • Partner - In Search of Lost Time
  • Snotty Nose Rez Kids - The Average Savage
  • U.S. Girls - In a Poem Unlimited
  • Weaves - Wide Open

Click here to read more!

List all news