Long List Announced for Polaris Music Prize 2018

Posted on
June 15, 2018
Tagged as
2018, cima members, polaris music prize

The long list of 40 albums has been announced for the 2018 Polaris Music Prize. Nominees range from established award-winners to brand new emerging artists.  This year the jury considered 225 albums. This 40 will be whittled down to a 10 album shortlist, which will be revealed on July 17. The winner will be chosen by an 11 member grand jury on September 17 at the Polaris gala at the Carlu.

The winner for Album of the Year will be selected by the Polaris Grand Jury, receive $50,000 and be honoured at the Polaris Music Prize Gala (held at The Carlu in Toronto on September 17, and simulcast on CBC Music and AUX.tv). The remaining nine artists will receive $3,000 each, courtesy of Slaight Music.

Among the 40 artists on the Polaris long list, the following are supported by CIMA and our members:

Bernice – Puff LP: In The Air Without A Shape: Arts & Crafts

Cadence Weapon – Cadence Weapon: eOne Music

Charlotte Day Wilson – Stone Woman: Paquin Entertainment Group

Donovan Woods – Both Ways: Paquin Entertainment Group

Faith Healer – Try ;) Mint Records, Inc.

Frigs – Basic Behaviour: Arts & Crafts

Gord Downie – Introduce Yerself:  Arts & Crafts

Hubert Lenoir – Darlène: Simone Records

Jean-Michel Blais – Dans Ma Main: Arts & Crafts

Jennifer Castle – Angels of Death: Idée Fixe Records

Jeremy Dutcher – Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa: MusicOntario Member 

Mélissa Laveau – Radyo Siwèl: Bonsound

Milk & Bone – Deception Bay: Bonsound

Pierre Kwenders : Bonsound

Terra Lightfoot – New Mistakes: Sonic Unyon Records

The Barr Brothers – Secret City Records Inc.

The Weather Station – The Weather Station: Outside Music

YAMANTAKA//SONIC TITAN – Dirt:  Paper Bag Records

Click here to see the full Polaris Prize Long List: 

List all news