Short List Announced for Polaris Music Prize 2016

Posted on
July 14, 2016
Tagged as

A short list of 10 albums has been announced for the 2016 Polaris Music Prize. No nominated musician this year has previously won the Music Prize.

The shortlist was announced Thursday, July 14. The same day, an hour-long segment of Drive with Rich Terfry will feature various shortlisted Polaris artists (broadcast July 14 at 6 p.m. EST on local CBC Radio 2 frequencies and on

Presently in its 11th edition, the Prize is awarded for artistic merit to the best Canadian full-length of any genre, label or sales category, from albums released between June 1, 2015 and May 31, 2016.

The short list was determined by an independent jury of Canadian broadcasters and journalists. A Grand Jury of 11 people will next convene at the Polaris Awards Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize Winner.

The winner for Album of the Year will receive $50,000 and be honoured at the Polaris Music Prize Gala (held at the historic Carlu in Toronto on September 19, and simulcast on CBC Music and The remaining nine artists will receive $3,000 each, courtesy of Slaight Music.

Among the 10 artists on the Polaris short list, the following are supported by CIMA and our members:

  • Andy ShaufThe Party (Arts & Crafts)
  • Basia BulatGood Advice (Secret City Records)
  • Black MountainIV (Dine Alone Records)
  • Carly Rae JepsenE.MO.TION (Feldman Agency)
  • PUPThe Dream Is Over (Royal Mountain Records)



For the official short list announcement and more information on the 2016 Polaris Music Prize, click here.

List all news