Congratulations to the 2017 JUNO Award Nominees!




The JUNO Awards will be celebrating their 46th anniversary in Ottawa, Ontario this year! The 2017 JUNO Awards and JUNO Week Celebrations will take place from March 27-April 2, 2017.

At a press conference in Toronto today, CARAS unveiled their 2017 JUNO Award nominees! On behalf of CIMA, we’d like to extend a sincere congratulations to all of this year’s excellent nominees, and we’re excited to see you all in Ottawa!

We’d like to put a special spotlight on the CIMA members (and their artists) who earned nominations today! You can check out the full PDF of JUNO nominees here, but the list below highlights the achievements of CIMA’s members.


2017 JUNO Award Nominees

JUNO Fan Choice Award

-The Strumbellas (Six Shooter)


Single of the Year Spirits

-The Strumbellas (Six Shooter)


Group of the Year

-Arkells (Last Gang Records)

-Tegan and Sara (Amelia Artists Inc)

-The Strumbellas (Six Shooter)


Breakthrough Artist of the Year Sponsored by FACTOR, the Government of Canada, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters, and Radio

– Andy Shauf (Arts & Crafts/ Kelp Management)


Breakthrough Group of the Year Sponsored by FACTOR, the Government of Canada, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters, and Radio

-The Zolas (Light Organ Records)

-The Dirty Nil (Dine Alone)


Songwriter of the Year Presented by SOCAN

-“Leaving Nashville” – co-songwriter Abe Stoklasa THE DRIVER – Charles Kelly Capitol*Universal “What Kind of Love is That” – co-songwriter Tom Douglas, “They Don’t Make Anything in That Town” HARD SETTLE, AIN’T TROUBLED –Donovan Woods (Paquin Management)


-“Boyfriend” – co-songwriter Greg Kurstin, “100x” – co-songwriter Jesse Shatkin, “Stop Desire” LOVE YOU TO DEATH – Tegan and Sara

Tegan Quin and Sara Quin (Amelia Artists Inc)


-“The Stranger”, The Only Place To Be”, “Son” SECRET PATH – Gord Downie
Gord Downie Arts & Crafts


Country Album of the Year

-Hearts on Fire 
Chad Brownlee (MDM Recordings)

-Side Effects
Dallas Smith (604 Records)

-Kiss Me Quiet 
Jess Moskaluke (MDM Recordings)


Adult Alternative Album of the Year

-Good Advice 
Basia Bulat (Secret City Records)

-Secret Path 
Gord Downie Arts & Crafts

-The Great Detachment
Wintersleep (Dine Alone)

-The Party
Andy Shauf (Arts & Crafts/ Kelp Management)


Alternative Album of the Year Sponsored by Long & McQuade

July Talk (Sleepless Records)

-Art Angels 
Grimes (Crystal Math)

Black Mountain (Outside Music)


Pop Album of the Year Sponsored by TD

Coleman Hell (604 Records)

-Love You to Death
Tegan and Sara (Amelia Artists Inc)


Rock Album of the Year

-Morning Report 
Arkells (Last Gang Records)

-Sittin’ Heavy 
Monster Truck (Dine Alone/ Bedlam Music Management

Sam Roberts Band (UTA)


Vocal Jazz Album of the Year

-I’m Still Learning
Barbra Lica (Justin Time Records)


Jazz Album of the Year: Solo

-Blue Canvas
Brandi Disterheft (Justin Time Records)


Instrumental Album of the Year

-The Ridge
Sarah Neufeld (Paper Bag Records)


Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble or Soloist(s) with Large Ensemble Accompaniment

-Going Home Star – Truth and Reconciliation
Steve Wood and the Northern Cree Singers, Tanya Tagaq, Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (Six Shooter)


R&B/Soul Recording of the Year

-Soul Run
Tanika Charles (Aim Booking Agency)


Contemporary Roots Album of the Year (sponsored by National Arts Centre)

-The Family Album 
Matthew Barber & Jill Barber (Outside Music)

-Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen? 
Lisa LeBlanc (Bonsound)

-Hobo Jungle Fever Dreams
Corin Raymond (Mavens Music)


Traditional Roots Album of the Year

-Someday the Heart Will Trouble the Mind 
The High Bar Gang (True North Records)

-Secret Victory
The East Pointers (Noisemaker Management)


Blues Album of the Year

-The Northern South Vol. 1 
Whitehorse (Six Shooter Records)

-Ride The One
Paul Reddick (Stony Plain Records)

-Rich in Love 
Colin Linden (Stony Plain Records)

-Blue Highways
Colin James (True North Records)


Contemporary Christian/Gospel World Music Album of the Year Sponsored by Canada Council for the Arts

-Nouvelle Journée
Lorraine Klaasen (Justin Time Records)

-Subcontinental Drift
Sultans of String


Jack Richardson Producer of the Year

– “The Enforcer” (Co-producer Monster Truck) SITTIN’ HEAVY – Monster Truck, “Fever” (Dine Alone)

-DEALBREAKER – Royal Tusk 
Eric Ratz (Cadence)

-“R.E.D. ft. Yasiin Bey, Narcy & Black Bear”, “Sila ft. Tanya Tagaq” WE ARE THE HALLUCI NATION – A Tribe Called Red 
A Tribe Called Red (Pirates Blend/Sony)


Recording Engineer of the Year

-“Afraid of Heights” AFRAID OF HEIGHTS – Billy Talent Warner, “Don’t Tell Me How to Live” SITTIN’ HEAVY – Monster Truck
Eric Ratz (Dine Alone/ Bedlam Music Management)

– “The Magician”, “To You” THE PARTY – Andy Shauf Andy Shauf ((Arts & Crafts/ Kelp Management)


Recording Package of the Year

-SECRET PATH – Gord Downie (Arts & Crafts)
Jonathan Shedletzky (Art Director), Isis Essery (Designer), Jeff Lemaire (Illustrator)


Video of the Year (Sponsored by MuchFACT, exclusively funded by Bell Media)

-Kill v Maim – GRIMES 
Claire Boucher (Crystal Math)

-The Stranger – Gord Downie (Arts & Crafts)


Adult Contemporary Album of the Year

-A Fine Line
Heather Rankin


For the complete list of nominees, please visit: Here