CBC Music Awards Winners Announced!




As we mentioned in our write-up about these inaugural awards a few weeks back, the CBC Music Awards are fan’s choice awards – allowing Canadians to vote on who gets nominated, who gets on the shortlist and who ultimately wins.

The winners were announced earlier this morning, congratulations to all!

Earworm of the Year Award (for best song): Arcade Fire, “Reflektor”

“I Left Home To Buy This” Award (for album of the year): Serge Fiori, Serge Fiori

Proof You Heard Them First Award (for rising star): The Strumbellas

Best Reason To Buy A Concert Ticket Award (for live show): Arcade Fire

Top Of The Class Award (artist of the year): Celine Dion

Homegrown Hero (best independent artist): The Rural Alberta Advantage

Best Way To Spend Three Minutes on YouTube Award (for best music video): July Talk, “Summer Dress”

Most Likely To Follow You Back Award (for fan engagement): Michael Buble

Heart of Gold Award (for charitable work): Jim Cuddy

Wish You Were Here Award (best international artist): Ed Sheeran


More info at: http://music.cbc.ca/#!/blogs/2014/12/2014-CBC-Music-Awards-the-winners