CBC Music Awards – Voting For The Shortlist Open Until December 1!



There’s a new awards show in town this year – the CBC Music Awards. What makes them different than the plethora of other awards aailable? They’re not based on spins, sales or critical acclaim – they’re entirely based on votes from Canadians! They solicited submissions from Canadians on their favourite artists/bands/musicians through an online pool, and now people can vote in for their winners across 10 categories.

While the nomination period is now over, you can still vote for who makes it onto the shortlist. That voting period will close on December 1 at 3pm EST, with the top 5 of each category making it onto the shortlist. The final winners will be announced on December 9.

Find out more on how the voting works. 

A ton of really great Canadian indie bands, represented by way too many CIMA members to name individually, made their way onto the longlists – so congratulations to all and good luck with the rest of the voting period!

Here is the longlist for each category, as chosen by Canadians!


Artist of the Year


Blue Rodeo

July Talk

Leonard Cohen


Arcade Fire

Tanya Tagaq



Sam Roberts Band

Cold Specks

Fucked Up

Toronto Symphony Orchestra


Royal Canoe


Brett Kissel


Alex Nevsky


Best Song

“Tall Tall Shadow” by Basia Bulat

“Rolling Stone” by Reuben and the Dark

“Hideaway” by Kiezsa

“Come To Light” by Arkells

“Broken For Good” by Jill Barber

“3-2-1” by Brett Kissel

“We Go Home” by Adam Cohen

“Make Make” by Wil

“Archie, Marry Me” by Alvvays

“I miss the 80s” by Dominique Fricot

“Stronger Than That” by Bahamas

“Shapeshifters” by Sam Roberts Band

“Heaven In Our Headlights” by Hedley

“Hot Tonight” Tokyo Police Club

“Rude” by Magic!

“Reflektor” by Arcade Fire

“Telephones” by Mo Kenney

“Quarterback” by Kira Isabella

“Jealous (I Ain’t With It)” by Chromeo

“Uh-Oh (featuring Serena Ryder)” by Jeremy Fisher


Album of the Year

Nothing Was The Same by Drake

Reflektor by Arcade Fire

Popular Problems by Leonard Cohen

S/T by Serge Fiori

Martel by Jay Malinowski & Deadcoast

Commonwealth by Sloan

Bahamas is Afie by Bahamas

Little Secret by Nikki Yanofsky

Wintereisse by Gerald Finley

Devil’s Tale by Adrian Raso and Fanfare Ciocarlia

Flying Colours by Shad

Lo-Fantasy by Sam Roberts Band

Brill Bruisers by The New Pornographers

Shine On by Sarah McLachlan

Warring by The Darcys

Mended with Gold by The Rural Alberta Advantage

Weightless by Matt Andersen

Today We’re Believers by Royal Canoe

The Burning Bright by Royal Wood

Tall Tall Shadow by Basia Bulat


Rising Star

Alysha Brilla

Reuben and the Dark


Robyn Dell’Unto

Harlan Pepper

The Walkervilles


Lindsay Ell

Royal Tusk

Motel Raphael

King Reign

The Strumbellas

Brave Shores



Scott Helman

Jess Moskaluke

Annie Zhou

Tire Le Coyote



Best Live Show

Owen Pallett

Michael Kaeshammer

Sam Roberts Band

Tanya Tagaq


Corb Lund

July Talk

Arcade Fire

A Tribe Called Red

David Marin



The Pack A.D.


Leonard Cohen

Rich Aucoin

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir

Big Wreck


Mac DeMarco


Best Independent Artist

In-Flight Safety


The Courtneys

White Lung

PS I Love You

Pink Mountaintops


Library Voices

Lydia Ainsworth


Death From Above 1979

King Khan and the Shrines

The Darcys


Rich Aucoin

The Wet Secrets

The Pack A.D.

Mac DeMarco

Timber Timbre

The Rural Alberta Advantage


Best Music Video

“Yelling In Sleep” by Rich Aucoin

“Tokyo Summer” by Mounties

“Piscine” by Fanny Bloom

“You Were In Your Were” by Kevin Drew

“Up We Go” by Lights

“Absisto” by Cold Specks

“3-2-1” by Brett Kissel

“Sisters feat. Northern Voice” by A Tribe Called Red

“Curtains?!” by Timber Timbre

“Hideaway” by Kiezsa

“Song For Five & Six” by Owen Pallett

“Remember to Remember feat. Lights” by Shad

“Shapeshifters” by Sam Roberts Band

“Mabu” by PUP

“Afterlife” by Arcade Fire

“Summer Dress” by July Talk

“Heaven In Our Headlights” by Hedley

“The Bells” by Lowell

“Friends of Mine” by Jason Blaine

“Super Pretty Naughty” by Buck 65


Best Fan Engagement

Big Wreck

Said The Whale

Buck 65

Rich Aucoin



Hey Rosetta

Gryphon Trio

Brett Kissel

Jill Barber

Current Swell

Tegan and Sara

Aaron Pritchett

Walk Off The Earth

Johnny Reid

Michael Buble

Jenn Grant

Matt Mays

The Darcys



Heart of Gold

Hannah Georgas

City and Colour

Tom Cochrane

Bruce Cockburn

Simple Plan

The Darcys

Molly Johnson

Bryan Adams


Arcade Fire

Gord Bamford

Neil Young

The Wooden Sky

Meredith Shaw

Hey Ocean


Jim Cuddy

Danny Michel


Justin Hines


Best International Artist

Arctic Monkeys

Jack White


Jake Bugg



Ed Sheeran


First Aid Kit




Lang Lang

Boy & Bear



Sam Smith

The Black Keys

Pharrell Williams

Vance Joy


For more info on the inaugural CBC awards, please visit: http://music.cbc.ca/#!/CBC-Music-Awards