2014 SOCAN Songwriting Prize Nominees Announced




The 5 final nominees for the 9th annual SOCAN Songwriting Prize (English) have just been announced. This year’s candidates are:

  • “Emeralds Shatter” – written and performed by Louise Burns.
  • “Gold” – written by Colyn Cameron; performed by Wake Owl; published by BMG Rights Management Canada.
  • “Having You Around” – written by Peter Dreimanis, Leah Goldstein, Eamon McGrath, Daniel Miles, and Josh Warburton; performed by July Talk; published by July Talk Music Inc.
  • “I Want” – written and performed by Alejandra Ribera; published by Pandyamonium Artist Management.
  • “Reservoir” – written by Stefan Babcock, Nestor Chumack, Zachary Mykula and  Steven Sladkowski; performed by PUP


While the nominees were chosen by a team of expert panelists, fans get to choose the winner. Voting can be done once per day between June 3 – July 4, 2014 at www.socansongwritingprize.ca.

The SOCAN Songwriting Prize honours the most creative and artistic songs – English and French – released by independent Canadian songwriters over the past year. The writer(s) of the winning song will receive a $5,000 cash prize, as well as a Gibson 1941 SJ-100 acoustic guitar (SRP $3,200) from Gibson Acoustic, a Division of Gibson Brands, and a $1,300 prize pack from Roland Canada consisting of a BOSS Micro-BR BR-80 Digital Recorder, two CM-30 CUBE Monitors, and one pair of RH-300 Stereo Headphones.

Look out for the announcement of the winner during the week of July 7, 2014!